Contact the Gorilla Species Survival Plan®

The Gorilla SSP

Members of the SSP Steering Committee are elected by representatives from each institution holding gorillas. Committee members serve 3-year terms before coming up for reelection.





O.J., Zura, and Bwang,
G.g. gorilla
, San Francisco Zoo
(photo by Rick Murphy)





Asha and Tumani, G.g. gorilla,
Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
(photo by Tracey Gazibara)

The Gorilla SSP®


The core of the SSP is made up of institutional representatives from each zoo holding gorillas. These representatives report the status of their groups to an elected steering committee made up of a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and seven other elected members.
In addition, the SSP has a number of advisors on issues important to the management
of gorillas.

The current steering committee is:

Kristen E. Lukas, Ph.D. (Chair) Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Rachel Daneault (Vice-chair) Disney's Animal Kingdom
Maureen Leahy (Secretary) Lincoln Park Zoo
Roby Elsner (Studbook Keeper) Bronx Zoo
Craig Demitros Brookfield Zoo
Ron Evans Cincinnati Zoo
Jodi Carrigan Zoo Atlanta
Hugh Bailey Woodland Park Zoo
Beth Schaeffer Los Angeles Zoo
Tracy Fenn Jacksonville Zoo
Dusty Lombardi Columbus Zoo and Aquarium


The current advisory committee is:


Veterinary Advisory Team Tom Meehan, D.V.M (Chair) Brookfield Zoo
Pam Dennis, D.V.M, Ph.D. Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Hayley Muphy, D.V.M Zoo Atlanta
Gorilla Behavior Advisory Group Rachel Daneault . (Chair) Disney's Animal Kingdom
Tracy Fenn
Jacksonville Zoo
Population Management Center Advisors Sarah Long Lincoln Park Zoo
Reproduction Advisor TBD  
Contraception Advisor Mary Agnew Saint Louis Zoological Park
Nutrition Advisors Michelle Shaw, Ph.D. Taronga Zoo
Deb Schmidt, Ph.D. Saint Louis Zoological Park
Pathology Advisor Linda Lowenstine, DVM, Ph.D. University of California at Davis
Conservation Advisors Tara Stoinski, Ph.D. Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International
Richard Bergl, Ph.D. North Carolina Zoological Park
Research Advisors Nancy Hawkes, Ph.D. Woodland Park Zoo
Elena Less, Ph.D. Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Education Advisors Staci Weich Zoo Atlanta
Katie Corr Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Beth Kosiba Lincoln Park Zoo


Copyright 2008 Gorilla SSP® | Home | About the Site | Gorilla SSP on Facebook